8th GEWEX Open Science Conference: Extremes and Water on the Edge

May 6 - 11, 2018 | Canmore, Alberta, Canada

GEWEX, the Global Energy and Water Exchanges project, is holding its 8th GEWEX Open Science Conference from 6-11 May 2018 in Canmore, Alberta, Canada. For important information and deadlines, click here.

The 2018 GEWEX Open Science Conference is structured around the topic of challenges confronting our ability to understand and predict changes in climate extremes and the availability of freshwater under the complex factors of natural variability, forced climate change due to human activities, and human management practices such as dams, reservoirs, land cover changes, and agricultural management. The Conference will reflect research activities that advance the main themes of the GEWEX project and of the two WCRP Grand Challenges on “Weather and Climate Extremes” and “Water for the Food Baskets of the World.” The full call for papers can be found here.

The 2018 GEWEX Conference welcomes abstracts that are related to the themes mentioned, particularly on the following topics:

  • Nexus of water, energy, and food
  • Climate extremes
  • Extreme weather
  • Atmospheric modeling: atmospheric model parameterizations, physics-dynamics coupling, coupling of physical processes
  • Land modeling: land parameterizations, model representation of land-climate interactions in present and future, coupling of physical processes
  • Mountain and high latitude hydrology
  • Global energy and water cycles

Abstracts for both themes of weather and climate extremes and water availability, as well as the themes of the GEWEX Panels described above, are welcome. Poster submissions are encouraged. In conjunction with the conference, special Early Career Scientists events will be organized in collaboration with the Young Earth System Scientists (YESS) and Young Hydrologic Society (YHS).

The 2018 GEWEX Conference is hosted by the Global Institute for Water Security at the University of Saskatchewan and will be held at the Coast Canmore Hotel and Conference Centre in Canmore, Alberta, Canada from May 6th to 11th, 2018.

Please join us in using this conference to advance these important scientific and societal topics.

Important Dates

October 15, 2017: Registration and abstract submission opens
January 15, 2018: Final deadline for abstract submission, travel support requests, and applications for the ECR Workshop
*If we reach our maximum number of registrants before January 15th, the deadline will be that day and not the 15th
Abstract submission has closed.
Starting February 5, 2018: Abstract acceptance notification
Starting the week of February 19, 2018: Travel support notification
February 28, 2018: Early bird registration closes
April 3, 2018: Room reservation deadline at Coast Canmore Hotel

Registration and Abstract Submission Fees

Full week registration:                                           500 CAD (~405 USD)
Full week early bird registration:                           450 CAD (~365 USD)
Full week for students:                                          400 CAD (~325 USD)
Abstract submission fee (non-refundable):           80 CAD (~65 USD)
Attendance for guest at banquet & reception:      100 CAD (~80 USD)

Note that one-day registrations are not possible. We also do not accept payment on site at the Conference, without exception.

The registration fee includes breakfast and lunch from Monday through Thursday of the Conference, 7-10 May 2018.

Organizing Committees

Scientific Organizing Committee

Sonia Seneviratne (ETH Zürich), Co-Chair
Graeme Stephens (JPL), Co-Chair
Gab Abramowitz (University of New South Wales)
Lisa Alexander (University of New South Wales)
Joan Cuxart (University of the Balearic Islands)
Chris DeBeer (University of Saskatchewan)
Michael Ek (NOAA)
Jason Evans (University of New South Wales)
Gabi Hegerl (University of Edinburgh)
Daniel Klocke (DWD)
Tristan L’Ecuyer (University of Wisconsin-Madison)
Boram Lee (WCRP)
Jan Polcher (CNRS)
John Pomeroy (University of Saskatchewan)
Roy Rasmussen (UCAR)
Rémy Roca (CNRS)
Paolo Ruti (WMO)
Peter van Oevelen (GEWEX)
Howard Wheater (University of Saskatchewan)
Xubin Zeng (University of Arizona)
Xuebin Zhang (Environment Canada)

Local Organizing Committee

Chris DeBeer (University of Saskatchewan)
John Pomeroy (University of Saskatchewan)
Margaret Srinivasan (JPL)
Peter van Oevelen (GEWEX)